Skip to main content.
All hotels in Helsinki, Finland
1 room, 2 adults
Lonnrotinkatu 13HelsinkiFinland
  • Collect nightsYou can collect Hotels.com® Rewards nights here
Hotels.com reviewsTripAdvisor reviews
7.4Good

Score breakdown (from 874 reviews)

  • Location
    Great location
  • Value for money
    Best value for money
  • WiFi
    Good internet service
  • Room
    Room is all right
  • Breakfast
    Breakfast can be improved
  • Service
    Service could be improved
  • < Previous
  • Page 1 of 18
  • Next >
8.0Very Good
Rooms are very small, even by Europe standards; at best cruise ship room size. Cannot check in until 4pm (you get a code, so it’s not activated even a minute before 4; absolutely no staff around). You can’t beat the location though; it’s right in the middle of Helsinki’s most happening area. There’re pizza & burger joints right outside; a mini market across the street. 10 min walk from the major sights, from central station, very convenient. Unless you have 3 4 hundred bucks to burn a night on hotel, this is the best option for such an expensive city!
Verified Expedia guest review
Other trip Sep 6, 2018
David
us
2.0Poor"Be careful when booking this hotel "
It took us quite a while to get connected. When we asked about the difficulty in getting the right code, we were told there was a billing dispute!! When we asked for clarification, the phone was hung up. I will never recommend this hotel to any of my friend.
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Other trip Sep 5, 2018
Jingqiu
us
8.0Very Good"Convenient"
A comfortable easy rest for a quick night's stay
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Ville / Omenahotels.com
Thanks and welcome again!
1 night trip Aug 30, 2018
Michelle
us
8.0Very Good
Hotels in Helsinki are expensive, and this was a nice and reasonable option. A few blocks from the train station, it was an easy walk. Followed directions and waited until the 4 pm check-in (no early check-in) and code worked for room and front door without problems. Room was good sized and could sleep 4 thanks to chair beds which could come in handy if traveling with children. Would stay there again.
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Maria
Thank you for your feedback, great to hear!
Other trip Aug 23, 2018
John
us
8.0Very Good"Minimilist hotel with code entry."
This is a minimilist hotel. It is only accessible with a code that is sent in a confirmation email. Be sure you have the code as there is no staff on site. The room was tight for a family of four. But the price & location were excellent.
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Julia, Customer service
Hi, Thank you for your feedback! We really appreciate it!
1 night trip Jul 2, 2018
Edward
us
6.0Good"location ok but air problem"
as other guests noted, the fact that there is no regulation of airflow at all makes rooms uncomfortable. I would give 4-5 starts for the place if windows could at least crack open. place is clean and located centrally, ideal for visiting.
Verified Orbitz guest review
Response by Maria
Thank you for your feedback!
Other trip Jun 22, 2018
S
us
2.0Poor"Cheap, stingy, corporate evil. "
The corporation is too cheap to hire staff so the hotel is abandomed to guests. To get any help you have to phone a number that charges you per minute. Completely unacceptable. The bed was comfortable but the room was cold and you have no ability to turn on heat. Bathroom was pre-fab pod, small and barely functional. Hopefully this hotel concept will NOT catch on.
Verified Hotels.com guest review
2 night trip Jun 8, 2018
Douglas
us
6.0Good
Great location, very good rate, needs some service support (clerk/concierge) - no personnel on site. Loved Helsinki.
Verified Hotels.com guest review
3 night trip May 22, 2018
John
us
4.0Fair
There is no one to help you check in, and these geniuses put the after hours help phone inside the locked lobby so of course unless your inside you can’t use it. This left us outside freezing because our door code they gave us did not work! Morons! Pay the extra and get a real hotel! If you have any problems at this place your on your own!
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Joonas, Customer service
Thank you for your feedback! Best regards,
Other trip May 10, 2018
Darrell
us
8.0Very Good"Good hotel"
It is an automated hotel, which means that there is nobody to help correct any deficiencies. Other than that, it was quite good. It really deserves a 4.3.
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Joonas, Asiakaspalvelu
Thank you for your positive feedback! Best regards
2 night trip Apr 13, 2018
Paul
us
8.0Very Good"Good automated hotel"
Overall it was a good hotel, with a good location. The two things I missed were washcloths and facial tissues ("Kleenex"). O, and a front desk to complain to.
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Heidi K, Customer service
Dear Paul, Thank you for your feedback! We're glad to hear you liked the hotel and the location. Our hotel does not have staff at the hotel, but there is a free phone in the lobby that you can use to contact our 24/7 customer service.we would gladly have helped you directly on site! Best regards, Heidi
1 night trip Apr 9, 2018
Paul
us
8.0Very Good
Good and not very expensive hotel. Great combination of quality and price
Verified Orbitz guest review
Response by Heidi K, Customer service
Thank you for your positive feedback!
Romance trip Jan 10, 2018
A Traveler
us
4.0Fair"Beware of bed fleas!"
My wife got several bites from bed fleas, she had to see a doctor and we checked out a day early from our short stay. This is not what we expected from this Finnish hotel chain, maybe we should've done more research before booking here. Also, this "non-smoking hotel" reeked of cigarette smoke in the hallways and elevator areas.
Verified Orbitz guest review
Response by Heidi K, Customer service
Dear Brian, Thank you for your feedback! We're sorry to hear about the trouble with the room. Our hotel does not have staff at the hotel, but there is a free phone in the lobby that you can use to contact our 24/7 customer service.we would gladly have helped you directly on site!
Other trip Jan 9, 2018
Brian
us
8.0Very Good"Key-code operated. No human staff present."
Adequate for my purpose—to have somewhere to sleep, shower, and keep my luggage while in Helsinki on a business trip.
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Joonas, Omena Hotels
Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you liked the hotel.
Other trip Nov 30, 2017
Ruilin
us
10.0Exceptional
Great basic hotel with standard amenities. No need to interact with front desk - a code is emailed to you that unlocks the front door and your room.
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Joonas, Omena Hotels
Thank you for your positive feedback!
Other trip Nov 28, 2017
Paul
us
6.0Good
Good location and nice for people travelling in groups.
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Lina, Omena Hotels
Thank you for your feedback! Glad you liked the location of our hotel.
Other trip Oct 6, 2017
A Traveler
us
6.0Good"Get with it, Omena, deliver what you promise !"
Very confusing directions to our room, our room no did not correspond to any of the signs on the two buildings ! Got no tv or most power outlets plus fridge to work after our 1:st nights stay, called and we were promised to get it fixed, but nothing was fixed when we left, 2 days later.......
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Heidi H
Dear Dave, Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback! I am truly sorry to hear about the problems with the electricity in the room, I am also truly sorry to hear that the problem was not resolved. Did you contact the customer service again when nothing happened? I hope your stay in Helsinki was nice even if thee was a problem with the room! Kind regards Heidi Omena Hotels
3 night romance trip Sep 28, 2017
Dave
us
10.0Exceptional"Convinient and clean"
This is the 1st time I have stayed at a hotel without interacting with anyone. They send you code for the front door and your room. It's only activated at 1600 hrs on the day of your stay and will deactivate at 1100 hrs when you checkout. Clean room comfortable and close ti downtown approximately 7 to 10 min walking. There is a K market across the street and plenty of cafes and restaurants there. Helsinki is very expensive, this place was what we could afford at the lower end of hotels.
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Heidi H
Dear Rafael, Thank you for your feedback! We are glad to hear your stay in Omena Hotel went well. Kind regards Heidi Omena Hotels
2 night romance trip Sep 21, 2017
Rafael
us
6.0Good"Staff-less Hotel / very affordable "
Interesting concept. Never saw any staff and only room cleaning carts. This hitel has 2 separate buildings. We entered one and couldn't find our room #. Had to ask other hotel stayers where the missibg room was located. Small hitch, but OK. Door codes and room # sent 24 hours in advance via text, email, and calendar invite. Less expensive way to stay yet VERY close to central Helsinki!
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Heidi, Customer Service
Dear Kevin, Thank you for your feedback! We are glad to hear your stay in Omena Hotel went well.
Other trip Oct 2, 2017
Kevin
us
6.0Good"some good, some bad"
You need to weigh good and bad.... Good = great location, pretty nice size rooms, refrigerator, decent rate for an expensive city. Bad = zero service, zero maid service (towels get stinky, garbage piles up), rooms are not well cleaned when you arrive, stairways smells funny. All in all, 2.5 stars!
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Heidi H
Dear Hayman, Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback! I am sorry to hear about your disappointment with the room, the cleaning of the room takes part every fifth day of a stay. I do hope you contacted our 24/7 Customer service and that they were able to help you with new towels and garbage being picked up! There are a free telephone in the lobby of the hotel for customers and you can also contact us by e-mail. I hope your stay in Helsinki was nice! Kind regards Heidi Omena Hotels
3 night romance trip Sep 13, 2017
Hayman
us
10.0Exceptional"Great hotel and location"
This hotel was a little different, there was no front desk. The hotel emails and texts you the door code to your room and the main door. The room was very clean and spacious. It had coffee, tea and a microwave. If you Don't utilize the staff at the front desk normally this hotel will be great for you. It's minutes from the central train station and the water. To get to the hotel from the airport take train P to the hotel and train I to get back it was $5. Also recommend going to suomenlinna (island) and loyly (sauna).
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Heidi, Customer Service
Dear Maja, Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback and for your kind words. We are glad to hear that you liked the hotel! We hope your stay in Helsinki was nice!
Other trip Sep 17, 2017
Maja
us
8.0Very Good"Minimalist"
No receptionist. No daily room service. Great wifi, and usb plugs near beds. Hot water in shower.
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Heidi, Customer Service
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback!
Other trip Sep 11, 2017
A Traveler
us
10.0Exceptional"Hotel is in good location!"
This hotel is located within walking to the Esplanade and waterfront, market place & senate square and many restaurants. The prices are much lower at this hotel compared to most hotels in Helsinki. It's a hotel for people that are ok without needing anyone at the hotel, because even though they do have a phone 24/7 in their lobby, there is no staffing on premises. Felt safe and its efficiently operated with combination codes to access the main door, the floor door and your room door. Note* will not allow access before checkin time of 4:00pm. My only issue with hotel was (I used their lobby phone to reach their staff) and I asked if they could call me a taxi upon checking out of hotel with all of luggage, and they wouldn't assist me or couldn't even tell me where the nearest taxi stand to my hotel was.
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Heidi H
Dear Shelley, Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback and for your kind words! I am sorry to hear about you being disappointed about the taxi situation, unfortunately we can not call a taxi as we do not have staff on site and are not allowed to give out the guests name or contact information. As we do not have staff on site we can not know where everything is located in the cities where we have our hotels. I hope your stay in Helsinki was nice! Kind regards Heidi Omena Hotels
7 night romance trip Aug 30, 2017
shelley
us
10.0Exceptional"Helsinki Rocks. Check out the Casino"
The Onena Hotel in Lonnrotinkatu was great, the only issue going in is your combo doesn't work until 4pm and leaving at noon. If you can deal with that this place is a 5 minutes walk to everywhere for tourists. It's 5 minutes to the Edplannadi, the harbor, the ferries and Stockmann. For an unbelievable meal, go to level 2a, the grocery store and pick from an amazing assortment of hot and cold foods that you can take home or eat there.
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Heidi H
Dear John, Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback! We are glad to hear you liked the location of Omena Hotel! We hope you had a nice stay in Helsinki! Kind regards Heidi Omena Hotels
7 night romance trip Aug 30, 2017
john
us
2.0Poor"Great location, terrible HOSTEL like hotel. "
If you are inclined to ignore the comforts of a regular hotel, perhaps leaning towards a hostel, then this is it. No personnel on site to attend to immediate questions or needed service. Bear in mind Helsinki is quite an expensive city so this hotel may fit the category in which it's advertised. Lesson being, if you are planning to go to Helsinki, book early for great rates or hotels. Otherwise, do your shopping and stay in Tallinn, Estonia, then take a ferry ride to Helsinki for a day's tour.
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Heidi, Customer Service
Dear Sam, Thank you for your feedback!
Other trip Sep 6, 2017
Sam the man
us
8.0Very Good"cheap , good location"
for $70 a day, p place in the central city, clean with nice shower and fridge is a bargain. The decor is like a coke machine--lots of red plastic. But there was a microwave, hotpot, a dining table. The maid service is only every 5 days, but it was easy to get clean supplies between cleanings. In addition to the 2 beds, there were 2 fold out couches convertible to beds that kids would love.
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Heidi, Customer Service
Dear Lisa, Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback and for your kind words! I hope your stay in Helsinki was nice! Kind regards Heidi Omena Hotels
Family trip Sep 3, 2017
Lisa
us
10.0Exceptional"Uber cool stay in Helsinki"
This hotel has automated key coding for your building and room. You cannot check in before 16:00 with your code as there is no one to check in with. The room is great. Very smart design to give everything you need within a compact space. I was very comforable and liked the room. Good location near shops and restaurants and within easy walking distance of sites.
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Heidi H
Dear Victoria, thank you for reviewing us. It's nice to know you enjoyed your stay with us! I hope you had a nice time in Helsinki :)
2 night trip Jul 13, 2017
Victoria
us
10.0Exceptional
Rooms were very nice and easy access.
Verified Hotels.com guest review
1 night trip with friends Jun 10, 2017
Justin
us
8.0Very Good"Good price in a good part of town "
The room was a pretty large for a European hotel. Beds were comfortable and located in a nice part of the city. The shower was good, but water easily leaked into the rest of the bathroom. I'd stay here again though.
Verified Expedia guest review
Other trip May 24, 2017
A Traveler
us
8.0Very Good"Not a typical hotel, read on"
The hotel doesn't have any staff or front desk, you get a room# and access code prior to check in and you are pretty much on your own which can be very inconvenient. They have a phone in the lobby which connects to their service desk somewhere but no one ever picks up the call. With that said, If you arrive Helsinki early or leaving late. there is no storage for your luggage. If you didn't know this you would be dragging your luggage around town trying to find a storage (Central station is probably the only option), or going to different attractions with them. Also, there is no room service at all, I stayed 4 nights and no one came to clean the room, removing garbage and all, which I didn't mind but something you should know. Overall I enjoyed my stay, wifi is reliable, location is great and the room condition is acceptable.
Verified Hotels.com guest review
4 night romance trip Mar 29, 2017
A Traveler
us
6.0Good
No parking in hotel
Verified Hotels.com guest review
4 night romance trip Feb 15, 2017
Laimonas
us
10.0Exceptional
The taxi driver took us to boulevard with the same name and it wasn't pleasant to discover that there is not any hotel. But then he managed to find the hotel. The room was comfortable.
Verified Expedia guest review
Other trip Dec 12, 2016
A Traveler
us
8.0Very Good"Central location in Helsinki "
New experience to check in with a number / code. But easy and efficient. Room was ok and bed fine. Quiet at the hotel and nice pizza at the basement. Fair price.
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Veronica
Dear Traveller, Thank you for this positive feedback! We are really happy to hear that you liked our concept, even if it was something totally new!
Other trip Dec 5, 2016
T
us
6.0Good"Cheap hotel at the heart of Helsinki "
It was easy to find, and it is located in the heart of the city. The location is very convenient. It is OK for the price. Convenient. Not special though. It might be recommended for budget travelers.
Verified Expedia guest review
Other trip Nov 21, 2016
P
us
8.0Very Good"Interesting experience"
An unusual hotel. No reception desk, no staff in the halls. But the room was decent size, and all of the necessities a single traveller would want were there. The only suggestions I'd make would be to put some small night table(s) at the top end of the bed and to clean the ugly looking mattress (which is still of good quality though).
Verified Travelocity guest review
Response by Laura
Dear Val, thank you for taking the time to write a review. It's nice to hear you enjoyed the amenities in the room! I will ask our cleaners to check the condition of the mattresses, and your suggestion for improvement regarding night tables will be taken into consideration when improving our services. I hope you enjoyed your time in Helsinki!
Other trip Sep 27, 2016
A Traveler
us
2.0Poor"Warning! No staff around"
If I had known about this new "concept" in the hotel industry, I would have never booked. A couple of days before my stay, I received an email in Finnish. (Note: Finnish is not an Indo-European language, so knowledge of German, Swedish or any other language won't help.) No big deal, I thought, because many hotels send notices in advance. When I got there during a rainy mid-morning August day, I was stunned to find no one there. Fortunately, some other guests were leaving so I was able to go inside and use the phone to talk to a live human. I found out there was no way to check in until 4 pm, and there was nowhere to leave my bags. So the person told me to schlepp my bags to the central train station more than half a mile away in the rain. Storing my bags there cost 6 euros, thus depleting some of the "savings" I received from booking this budget hotel. There were no restrooms available in the "lobby". I stayed for two nights and there was no cleaning in between. The room was acceptable but really there was an eerie feeling with no hotel staff. From self-checkouts to now automated hotels, I know everyone is trying to save to meet the bottom line. But I would rather have someone employed to provide me human contact when I am in a foreign city and don't speak the language, one of the world's hardest, even if it costs a little bit more. At least warn us when booking not to expect staff so we can make a choice whether or not to support this new "concept"
Verified Hotels.com guest review
2 night trip Aug 13, 2016
A Traveler
us
10.0Exceptional"nice self service hotel, centrally located"
There are TWO entrances, check your room number against what is posted and follow signs to YOUR correct entrance.
Verified Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Sep 12, 2016
A Traveler
us
8.0Very Good"No entry before 4 pm"
No desk staff, code to open doors given via email. WILL NOT WORK BEFORE 4pM. Everything else lovely.
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by General Manager
Dear Anonymous, thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our door code system operates automatically, and we are therefore unable to provide an earlier check-in or a later check-out. I hope you had a nice time with us.
Trip with friends Sep 6, 2016
Erica
us
8.0Very Good"Nice hotel, clean."
It was good experience. The code entering for in and out is great.
Verified Expedia guest review
Other trip Aug 12, 2016
A Traveler
us
8.0Very Good"No frills hotel close to the bus station"
The Omena is a "no frills" hotel. You are emailed a door code and a room number. Check in is not until 4pm (which can be a problem when you arrive on a train, bus or plane and have no where to store your luggage (as we found out). There is no staff on site, so don't have an immediate need. The hotel itself was clean, and they were doing some maintenance on it during our stay.
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Laura
Dear Sarah, thank you for your feedback. As per our hotel concept of self-service hotels, we do not have any staff on site. In case of any problems or questions, all our guests can contact our 24/7 customer service. Unfortunately an earlier check-in is, for the time, not possible, since our door code system operates automatically, and the door codes activate at check-in time. Luggage storage is not provided at the hotel, but you can find luggage lockers at the railway station nearby! I hope you enjoyed your visit to Helsinki!
Other trip Jul 23, 2016
Z
us
8.0Very Good"Different, but good"
No desk clerks is a bit difficult to get used to, but as long as you don't run into any problems with your room, or your door code, or the internet, etc., it is very cool. You are never worried abut losing your key because there isn't one. As long as no one finds out your code, your room should be fairly secure. It is an excellent location, just 5 minutes to Stockmann's, 8 minutes to the train station, 10 minutes to Market Square and the ferry to the Sea Fortress, tons of restaurants, bars, cafes, markets. I liked the funky room decor, and enjoyed the fridge and microwave. Shower was good. Only negative is the 4 pm check-in time, most especially because, as it is self check-in, then there is no way to drop your bags to go sightseeing while you wait for check-in. Fortunately, I knew this ahead of time and checked my bags at the train station while I relaxed in town waiting for 4 o'clock. Also, 4:00 is late for ANY hotel. There were several people who waited on a bench right outside the hotel for 4-5 hours for check-in. Why they did not go leave their bags at the station and do something besides sit there, I do not know. As long as you have no issues with your room, code, internet, etc., then I can totally recommend Omena Hotel.
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by General Manager
Dear John, thank you for writing your review! It's great to hear you enjoyed our hotel concept, the facilities in the room and the location of our hotel. Even though our hotel is self-service, our customer service can be reached around the clock. So, in case any problems occur or any questions arise, all our guests can contact our customer service either by email or by phone. There's also a customer phone at the hotel lobby, that can be used to address our customer service directly. The 4pm check-in time is due to our automatic door code system, and unfortunately we are not able to provide an earlier check-in. We also cannot offer luggage storage at the hotel, since there is no staff on site to look after the luggage. I hope you enjoyed Helsinki and your stay with us!
2 night trip Jul 9, 2016
John
us
2.0Poor"Very bad Service."
It really was a bad experiment. There is no reception, no room service, nobody to talk or to complain to. The room was without a dressing, cloths board or even shelves to arrange cloths.
Verified Travelocity guest review
Response by Laura
Dear Hazem, thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm sorry you did not enjoy our hotel concept. As self-service hotels, we have no staff on site and therefore also no reception desk or room service. We do, however, have a customer service, which can be reached around the clock both by phone and by email. The contact information can be found in the booking confirmation or you can use the phone in the hotel lobby to contact us. We are always happy to help in any given situation!
Other trip Jul 8, 2016
A Traveler
us
8.0Very Good"Much for money - a concept I like"
Excellent location while wisiting my sons family
Verified Hotels.com guest review
3 night family trip Jun 6, 2016
Thomas
us
4.0Fair
The room was small. Not bad if you are alone and want to rest I guess. Anything other than that you're better off staying somewhere else. The hotel looked like a construction zone, trash and construction equipment all over the place.
Verified Hotels.com guest review
1 night trip Jun 4, 2016
A Traveler
us

The following English reviews were posted by hotel guests from other countries:

8.0Very Good"Convenient, clean, modern, just the job!"
We hadn't stayed in an 'unmanned' hotel before but it all worked very well. It provided the good value accommodation we were looking for and only a very short walk from the city centre. Convenient, clean, modern, just the job!
Verified Hotels.com guest review
2 night trip Sep 21, 2018
Robert
gb
10.0Exceptional
Very good
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Ville, Omenahotels.com
Thanks! Nice to hear you enjoyed your stay!
1 night trip Sep 24, 2018
Jin
cn
8.0Very Good"Omena Hotel "
Score for service is because hotel isnt “manned” so there is no service, but that’s not a bad thing.
Verified Hotels.com guest review
2 night trip Sep 5, 2018
Wendy
au
8.0Very Good"Nice hotel close to mosque, restaurants and sea"
Nice close to bus and tram stops. Easy access to town centre and tourist areas such as Kampi, museum and other areas for activities such as rides.
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Riina / Omena hotels
Thank you for your positive feedback!
Other trip Sep 5, 2018
A Traveler
gb
8.0Very Good"Clean, comfortable and great location "
Great location. Good call for money
Verified Hotels.com guest review
2 night trip Aug 30, 2018
shiri
il
6.0Good"Plastic cupboard "
Expensive for what you get. Plastic cupboard a la Formula1. Efficient, everything worked, nice TV, very good WiFi. No visible staff, would be difficult if you had a problem. Take a good look at the website photos and think wide angle lens.
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Sirpa, Omenahotels
Hello, thank you for your feedback. Nice to hear that everything worked well. As a self service hotel we don't have any personal at the hotel but we have 24/7 customer service ready to solve all problems. In every lobby of the hotel is a phone which can be used free of charge to call customer service. welcome again ! Kind regards,
Other trip Jul 13, 2018
A Traveler
au
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews
  • < Previous
  • Page 1 of 18
  • Next >